2018-2019 Season

FALL CONCERT: "The Symphony Dances"

Sunday, December 2, 3 p.m.
Harman Hall, Performing Arts Center

Photo of EnergyJoin the Cal Poly Symphony in an exploration of dance across the historical spectrum.  The program features everything from 16th Century lute music – re-imagined by the Italian composer and musicologist Ottorino Respighi in his “Ancient Airs and Dances” – to the pulsing minimalism of John Adams “The Chairman Dances.”

Enjoy both the intimate music of Claude Debussy and Howard Hanson, featuring guest artists Marcia Dickstein, harp, and Suzanne Duffy, flute, as well as the unbridled exuberance of Arturo Márquez’ “Danzón No. 2.”


Respighi: Ancient Airs and Dances, Suite No. 1
Debussy: Sarabande (arr. Ravel)
Adams: The Chairman Dances
Debussy: Danses sacrée et profane (Marcia Dickstein, harp)
Hanson: Serenade for Flute, Harp and Strings (Suzanne Duffy, flute and Marcia Dickstein, harp)
Márquez: Danzón No. 2

Purchase Tickets


WINTER CONCERT: "Student Soloists Showcase"

Sunday, March 3, 3 p.m.
Harman Hall, Performing Arts Center

Photo of a Student SoloistEvery year, the Symphony holds auditions for student soloists of any major. The prize for several of them - a performance with the Symphony, of course! Come hear this year’s winners and celebrate musical talent from across the University.


Rheinberger: Organ Concerto No. 2, mvt. 3 (Grant Smith, organ)
Yoshimatsu: "Cyber Bird" Concerto, mvt. 2 (Victor Wei, saxophone)
F. Strauss: Horn Concerto, Op. 8, mvt. 3 (Justin Privitera, French horn)
Giacchino: Star Trek: into Darkness (Suite)
Haydn: Piano Concerto No. 11 in D Major, mvt. 1 (Nico Borst, piano)
Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat Major, mvt. 1 (Clay Froelich, violin; Laila Zaidi, viola)
Holst: Jupiter, from The Planets


Purchase Tickets


SPRING CONCERT: Fate – Tchaikovsky 4 and Café Musique

Saturday, June 8, 8 p.m.
Harman Hall, Performing Arts Center

Photo of Tchaikovsky

“Our symphony progresses.”  Such were the words that Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky wrote in 1877 to Nadezhda Filaretovna von Meck.  Madame von Meck, as she is often known, idolized Tchaikovsky’s music, supported him for years, shared a very personal and prolific correspondence with him, and insisted that they never meet.  She also very much wanted to know what “their” symphony was about.

In a rare departure, Tchaikovsky wrote to her a full explanation of the meaning of this work, centered on the idea of “Fate, the decisive force which prevents our hopes of happiness from being realized…”  Come join the Symphony as we trace the crushing depths of despair and passionate moments of hope in Tchaikovsky’s epic musical struggle.

Come, as well, to see an entirely different musical reaction to the struggles of life: Tango!  Our special guests, the musicians of Café Musique, play two passionate tangos with the Cal Poly Symphony and a set of music all by themselves.


Gade: Jalousie (arr. Tim Simonec, with Café Musique)
Gardel: Por una Cabeza (arr. Tim Simonec, with Café Musique)
Café Musique repertoire tba
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in F minor, op. 36

Purchase Tickets

Related Content